# How do i know if someone deleted their discord account

**URL:** <https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134>\
**Category:** General\
**Tags:** discord\
**Created:** [November 26, 2025, 1:24am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134 "2025-11-26T01:24:59Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 6\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![derekfrancisc](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/d/c57346/32.png) [@derekfrancisc](https://community.redact.dev/u/derekfrancisc)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2025, 1:24am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/1 "2025-11-26T01:24:59Z")

</div>

Quick question – is there actually a way to distinguish between someone self-deleting their account and Discord banning them?

I see the ‘Deleted User #####’ tag pop up in old chats sometimes, but I’m never sure if that means they chose to leave or if they got nuked by Discord. Is there a specific way to tell the difference just by looking at the profile, or does it look the same either way?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Gerald](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.redact.dev/gerald/32/103_2.png) [@Gerald](https://community.redact.dev/u/Gerald)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2025, 1:26am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/2 "2025-11-26T01:26:06Z")

</div>

tbh it looks exactly the same for both. once the account is fully gone, it just turns into that generic ‘Deleted User’ tag regardless of what happened.

unless you knew they were about to get banned for something specific, you’re basically just guessing. could’ve been a ban, could’ve just been them rage quitting the platform 🤣

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![TimBuckToo420](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.redact.dev/timbucktoo420/32/200_2.png) [@TimBuckToo420](https://community.redact.dev/u/TimBuckToo420)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2025, 1:30am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/4 "2025-11-26T01:30:55Z")

</div>

Technically speaking, there is no difference in the final **`User Object`** that the API returns, but the _timing_ can sometimes give it away.

When a user self-deletes, the account enters a ‘pending deletion’ state for 14-30 days. During this window, the account is disabled but not yet anonymized. If they were banned for a ToS violation, the token is often invalidated immediately, and the account is disabled instantly.

However, once you see the name change to `Deleted User` with a generic discriminator (like `#0000`), the account has been fully scrubbed from the database. This process (anonymization) is identical for both bans and deletions to comply with GDPR and privacy laws. It effectively strips all PII (Personally Identifiable Information) while keeping the unique Snowflake ID attached to the messages for database integrity.

So, unless you were monitoring their API status code during the transition, the end result is indistinguishable because the data has been wiped in the exact same way.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![D-Mag](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.redact.dev/d-mag/32/131_2.png) [@D-Mag](https://community.redact.dev/u/D-Mag)\
**Post date:** [November 26, 2025, 1:43am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/5 "2025-11-26T01:43:42Z")

</div>

there is no way to know this unless you have a contact at Discord HQ

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![llllllllllllllllllll](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/l/58956e/32.png) [@llllllllllllllllllll](https://community.redact.dev/u/llllllllllllllllllll)\
**Post date:** [December 29, 2025, 10:26pm UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/6 "2025-12-29T22:26:39Z")

</div>

You aren’t able to tell a difference, it looks the exact same to the public.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![Tommy](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex027/user_avatar/community.redact.dev/tommy/32/100_2.png) [@Tommy](https://community.redact.dev/u/Tommy)\
**Post date:** [January 16, 2026, 12:38am UTC](https://community.redact.dev/t/how-do-i-know-if-someone-deleted-their-discord-account/134/7 "2026-01-16T00:38:53Z")

</div>

tldr - no

If they show up as **“Deleted User ####”** Discord has anonymized the account and it looks basically the same whether they deleted it themselves or Discord disabled it. The only weak clue is timing (name changes after a delay sometimes), but it’s still guesswork.
